Unscanned systems

A place for discussion of making game modifications.
Post Reply
gaerzi
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:30 pm

Unscanned systems

Post by gaerzi »

It can be hard to remember where you have and haven't already sent a scout ship.

There are some files you can modify to access this information.

GUI\~GalaxyMap\@PlanetRow.lua, line 798. Change

Code: Select all

				if star.type=='hsa'
					bottom_bar.title | format("Anomaly: %s",star.name)
				else
	        bottom_bar.title(star.name .. ' System')
				end
into

Code: Select all

				if star.type=='hsa'
					bottom_bar.title | format("Anomaly: %s",star.name)
				else
					local label = star.name .. ' System'
					if not gui_player().scanned?[star]
					  label ..= ' (Unscanned)'
					end
					bottom_bar.title(label)
				end
Do likewise with GUI\~GalaxyMap\@StarNameEdit.lua, line 82, changing

Code: Select all

      local rx,ry,rw,rh = box_grow(20,0,bottom_bar.title(star.name .. ' System'))
into

Code: Select all

	  local label = star.name .. ' System'
	  if not gui_player().scanned?[star]
	    label ..= ' (Unscanned)'
	  end
      local rx,ry,rw,rh = box_grow(20,0,bottom_bar.title(label))
And finally, GUI\~GalaxyMap\@FleetShips.lua, line 461, change

Code: Select all

  if not gui_player().explored[star]
    name=uncharted_star_title![star.type]
  end
into

Code: Select all

  if not gui_player().explored[star]
    name=uncharted_star_title![star.type]
  else 
    if not gui_player().scanned?[star]
      name..= ' (Unscanned)'
	end
  end
This will cause the non-scanned trait of these systems appear in the title bar when looking at a known system you don't own (@PlanetRow), a known system you own (@StarNameEdit), and when choosing a system as a destination for a fleet (@FleetShips).
zolobolo
Posts: 1544
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Unscanned systems

Post by zolobolo »

This is something I have been requesting for some time now :)

An icon next to the system that is not scanned- but your idea to place this flag into the system name sounds better as it would clog up the galaxy view

In this all the unscanned systems get replaced by the title "Uscanned" correct?
If so, the issue there might be if we are dealing with other factions in diploamcy screen and they offer some of their unscanned systems you cannot distinguish them

What if unscanned systems had a prefix such as "x" or "*" or "#" in their name instead so the laber is still unique and they can be recognized by it?

Never found it if and how systesm loose their unscanned status so would be interesting to see that :) Somehow I always imagined that auto-explored system revealed by allies would be unscanned already - that each system can only be scanned once by all the players together, but was never sure how it works
gaerzi
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:30 pm

Re: Unscanned systems

Post by gaerzi »

zolobolo wrote:In this all the unscanned systems get replaced by the title "Uscanned" correct?
No, it appends " (Unscanned)" to the title.

Image
zolobolo wrote:Never found it if and how systesm loose their unscanned status so would be interesting to see that :)
It's really just whether or not you have sent a ship with a deep space scanner (typically, a scout ship) in the system. Each empire has its own register of scanned systems. A system being unscanned doesn't mean there's a goodie hut in it, as perhaps there weren't anything to start with, or perhaps there was an another empire was faster... It just means you don't know.
emky
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 8:12 pm

Re: Unscanned systems

Post by emky »

Thank you thank you! Hey devs, please put this in the core game! I think about this every time I start a new game.

I could see galaxy map appending a ? if it's unscanned. "Denebola?"
Post Reply