Fleet bases underwhelming?

General Stars in Shadow Discussion Forum
gaerzi
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:30 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby gaerzi » Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:36 pm

Master of Orion has a fleet command point system. Each orbital base you have bring you some command points. Higher base tiers give you more points, but you can also upgrade a lower tier into a higher tier. If your fleet exceeds your command point total (either because you built more ships, or because you lost some bases) then your fleet maintenance costs increase dramatically.

A system like that could make fleet bases more useful, however it'd be one extra resource to juggle and that's not necessarily a good idea. It's just what all this talk about tying maintenance to star bases somehow made me think of it.

DanTheTerrible
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:28 am

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby DanTheTerrible » Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:51 pm

I was never a fan of MoO2 command points. They felt artificial and gamy and added micromanagement. I prefer the more straightforward SiS system of maintenance costs, which has the added benefit of making ship design more interesting by allowing sacrifices in capability to reduce maintenance.

However, a different MoO2 concept has occurred to me: larger MoO2 stations added to command and detection range. I think it would be cool if SiS added a possible station module that adds +1 or so to command range, and/or incoming fleet detection range. Call them hyperwave relay links or something. Fleet bases might have these built in.

User avatar
siyoa
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby siyoa » Sun Mar 08, 2020 5:41 am

I always had certain vision for fleet bases, and despite the name, they were much less military oriented, this may become a mod one day :arrow:

Hydroponics Modules providing +5 food
Attachments
orbitals_hydroponics_01.JPG
orbitals_hydroponics_01.JPG (89.07 KiB) Viewed 7778 times
orbitals_hydroponics_02.JPG
orbitals_hydroponics_02.JPG (144.24 KiB) Viewed 7778 times
How did YOU get a key? All right, go in.

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby Arioch » Sun Mar 08, 2020 3:38 pm

5 Food is a lot... it's more than the starting farm on a high-fertility Garden world, and that's with 2 colonists working it. The entire starting output of a Garden world with 1 Farm and 6 colonists is only 7 Food. It's hard to imagine a module on a space station producing that much food.

User avatar
siyoa
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby siyoa » Sun Mar 08, 2020 6:08 pm

Arioch wrote:5 Food is a lot... it's more than the starting farm on a high-fertility Garden world, and that's with 2 colonists working it. The entire starting output of a Garden world with 1 Farm and 6 colonists is only 7 Food. It's hard to imagine a module on a space station producing that much food.


yop :) (well...)

was not trying to balance it, just picked a number that is easy to spot while making sure my scripts are doing what they need to be doing ;)

I am not sure what would be right number, level 3 farm on garden world is producing 11 food when staffed with 2 population and cost next to nothing to build, although it takes a precious planet improvement slot

now, research for level 3 farm is 3000, space habitats are 800 and I may place hydroponic module as an advancement from that, so it might end up at 3000 as well, the cost to install (and energy consumption afterwards (need to install additional power generator maybe, i.e. additional cost) hydroponic module is quite high (lots of metal and hammers), so if one level 3 farm can produce 11 food in ideal conditions, 5 just might be on par given how late game technologies both are/will be ... or it may end up producing 2 food, not sure yet

EDIT: just added space station picture, to compare the cost of build of that with cost of build of farm, keep in mind that space station takes one of two precious orbital slots as well ... also, I might change the production value from fixed number to function of space_times (update_design_specs = increase_var 'food_gen' { space_times = 0, plus=5 },), so that mere Space station produces maybe 2 food and bigger stations produce more (but are much more costly to build) ... I have some scripts in the works for adding hardpoint slots (or changing hardpoint slot values) through research advancements :idea:
Attachments
space_station_food.JPG
space_station_food.JPG (34.45 KiB) Viewed 7747 times
farm_3_food.JPG
farm_3_food.JPG (118.57 KiB) Viewed 7747 times
How did YOU get a key? All right, go in.

User avatar
siyoa
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby siyoa » Tue Mar 10, 2020 7:35 pm

Diplomatic Modules
Attachments
diplomatic_module.JPG
diplomatic_module.JPG (61.66 KiB) Viewed 7557 times
diplomatic_module_hover.JPG
diplomatic_module_hover.JPG (27.85 KiB) Viewed 7557 times
How did YOU get a key? All right, go in.

User avatar
siyoa
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby siyoa » Tue Mar 10, 2020 7:41 pm

Asteroid Mining Module
Attachments
asteroid_mining_module.JPG
asteroid_mining_module.JPG (65.67 KiB) Viewed 7552 times
asteroid_mining_module_planet_report.JPG
asteroid_mining_module_planet_report.JPG (39.49 KiB) Viewed 7552 times
How did YOU get a key? All right, go in.

User avatar
siyoa
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby siyoa » Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:34 am

Economic Centres
Attachments
economic_centre.JPG
economic_centre.JPG (46.03 KiB) Viewed 7154 times
economic_centre_planet_report.JPG
economic_centre_planet_report.JPG (30.09 KiB) Viewed 7154 times
How did YOU get a key? All right, go in.

User avatar
siyoa
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:19 pm

Re: Fleet bases underwhelming?

Postby siyoa » Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:01 am

hope everyone is doing as good as they can, in these trying times

bit of an insight on quite slow progress (not much free time)

Shipyard gets
- additional System slot when Autorepair Systems are researched
- Armor, Shield and Dyson Swarm slots when Fleet Logistics are researched
- two Hangar slots (capacity 6) when Carriers are researched

Code: Select all

 if (empire:known 'Autorepair Systems') then
    add_slot (t,t1,t2,tname,'Shipyard','System','System','r1',
      {hardpoint_type="System", mtype="System", space=30, research="r1"})
  end

  if (empire:known 'Fleet Logistics') then
    add_slot (t,t1,t2,tname,'Shipyard','Station','Dyson','r1',
      {hardpoint_type="Dyson", mtype="Dyson", space=90, research="r1"})
    add_slot (t,t1,t2,tname,'Shipyard','System','Shield','r1',
      {hardpoint_type="Shield", mtype="Shield", space=30, research="r1"})
    add_slot (t,t1,t2,tname,'Shipyard','Shield','Armor','r1',
      {hardpoint_type="Armor", mtype="Armor", space=20, research="r1"})
  end

  if (empire:known 'Carriers') then
    add_slot (t,t1,t2,tname,'Shipyard','','Hangar','r1',
      {hardpoint_type="Hangar", mtype="Hangar", space=20, n=6, research="r1"})
    add_slot (t,t1,t2,tname,'Shipyard','Hangar','Hangar','r2',
      {hardpoint_type="Hangar", mtype="Hangar", space=20, n=6, research="r2"})
  end
Attachments
shipyard_growing.JPG
shipyard_growing.JPG (134.94 KiB) Viewed 6713 times
How did YOU get a key? All right, go in.


Return to “General Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron