Page 1 of 1

Unscanned systems

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2022 2:57 pm
by gaerzi
It can be hard to remember where you have and haven't already sent a scout ship.

There are some files you can modify to access this information.

GUI\~GalaxyMap\@PlanetRow.lua, line 798. Change

Code: Select all

            if star.type=='hsa'
               bottom_bar.title | format("Anomaly: %s",star.name)
            else
           bottom_bar.title(star.name .. ' System')
            end

into

Code: Select all

            if star.type=='hsa'
               bottom_bar.title | format("Anomaly: %s",star.name)
            else
               local label = star.name .. ' System'
               if not gui_player().scanned?[star]
                 label ..= ' (Unscanned)'
               end
               bottom_bar.title(label)
            end


Do likewise with GUI\~GalaxyMap\@StarNameEdit.lua, line 82, changing

Code: Select all

      local rx,ry,rw,rh = box_grow(20,0,bottom_bar.title(star.name .. ' System'))

into

Code: Select all

     local label = star.name .. ' System'
     if not gui_player().scanned?[star]
       label ..= ' (Unscanned)'
     end
      local rx,ry,rw,rh = box_grow(20,0,bottom_bar.title(label))

And finally, GUI\~GalaxyMap\@FleetShips.lua, line 461, change

Code: Select all

  if not gui_player().explored[star]
    name=uncharted_star_title![star.type]
  end

into

Code: Select all

  if not gui_player().explored[star]
    name=uncharted_star_title![star.type]
  else
    if not gui_player().scanned?[star]
      name..= ' (Unscanned)'
   end
  end


This will cause the non-scanned trait of these systems appear in the title bar when looking at a known system you don't own (@PlanetRow), a known system you own (@StarNameEdit), and when choosing a system as a destination for a fleet (@FleetShips).

Re: Unscanned systems

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2022 7:31 pm
by zolobolo
This is something I have been requesting for some time now :)

An icon next to the system that is not scanned- but your idea to place this flag into the system name sounds better as it would clog up the galaxy view

In this all the unscanned systems get replaced by the title "Uscanned" correct?
If so, the issue there might be if we are dealing with other factions in diploamcy screen and they offer some of their unscanned systems you cannot distinguish them

What if unscanned systems had a prefix such as "x" or "*" or "#" in their name instead so the laber is still unique and they can be recognized by it?

Never found it if and how systesm loose their unscanned status so would be interesting to see that :) Somehow I always imagined that auto-explored system revealed by allies would be unscanned already - that each system can only be scanned once by all the players together, but was never sure how it works

Re: Unscanned systems

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2022 8:49 pm
by gaerzi
zolobolo wrote:In this all the unscanned systems get replaced by the title "Uscanned" correct?

No, it appends " (Unscanned)" to the title.

Image

zolobolo wrote:Never found it if and how systesm loose their unscanned status so would be interesting to see that :)

It's really just whether or not you have sent a ship with a deep space scanner (typically, a scout ship) in the system. Each empire has its own register of scanned systems. A system being unscanned doesn't mean there's a goodie hut in it, as perhaps there weren't anything to start with, or perhaps there was an another empire was faster... It just means you don't know.

Re: Unscanned systems

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2022 2:46 pm
by emky
Thank you thank you! Hey devs, please put this in the core game! I think about this every time I start a new game.

I could see galaxy map appending a ? if it's unscanned. "Denebola?"