Bug Report Archive

Threads and posts that have become outdated are preserved here.

Moderator: luciderous

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1511
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:19 am

mharmless wrote:Neutral Pirates are not attacking, even defenseless fleets


hrm. yes. that makes sense; given the changes i'm making to the way encounters are handled. *soon* you should get an extortion attempt from pirates (and a similar negotiation with marauders). for the moment, however, they're going to be passive. (excepting ravin -- who is currently attacking everything that enters his system.)

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby mharmless » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:22 am

What a coincidence, I was actually just about to post a bug report regarding Ravin the Unrelenting!

He only gives me the choice "Die, slaver scum!", which makes him attack me.

The game, however, offers me the choice of Dismiss. Which prevents the war declaration, and I'm on my merry way.

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby mharmless » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:27 am

You may use the Tab key as a character in a save file name. This triggers an error when you hit save, as it is an invalid character in a file name.
Build r11747

Hey buddy if you want a save you'll have to pay for it.PNG
Hey buddy if you want a save you'll have to pay for it.PNG (480 KiB) Viewed 6017 times


post edited by sven: good catch :) and an easy fix.

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby mharmless » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:30 am

Pressing , or . jumps the cursor just off the right hand side of the screen, and starts it scrolling, even when typed into the save file name dialog.
Build r11747

Does not seem to happen when naming ships.

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1511
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:41 am

mharmless wrote:Pressing , or . jumps the cursor just off the right hand side of the screen, and starts it scrolling, even when typed into the save file name dialog.


interesting. looks like these were old hotkeys for navigating the report list. broken now, given various changes made to the UI -- and also unnecessary. they'll be gone in the next update. thanks for the report.

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby mharmless » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:57 am

sven wrote:interesting. looks like these were old hotkeys for navigating the report list. broken now, given various changes made to the UI -- and also unnecessary. they'll be gone in the next update. thanks for the report.


That's what I'm here for! Beakin shit so you don't have to.

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1511
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:17 am

mharmless wrote:That's what I'm here for! Beakin shit so you don't have to.


well -- you've got a real knack for it :) posted a few more little fixes on dev -- but, now i'm headed to bed. thanks again.

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby mharmless » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:25 am

Bombardment of a multi-racial planet sends all bombardment to one of the races, and can cause a very negative population count for that race.
Build r11747

Initially saw it with only half a million or so negative, assumed it was a result of the fractional populations business. Playing with it though, I got the result below. You can see that the purple population growth bar has wrapped around to one side. The planet's net population is 1, and hitting it one more time destroys the colony. Invasion or not, the next turn the values will be correct. The negative pop goes away, the planet's total pop adjusts to reflect the actual living.

So far it reproduces on every multi-racial world I've tried.

Double-tap from orbit.PNG
Double-tap from orbit.PNG (942.54 KiB) Viewed 6209 times

User avatar
Big Imp
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Big Imp » Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:06 pm

This bug is a familiar one "...to push that doesn't ...." and I am just trying to defend with my star base.
Attachments
base defense.jpg
base defense.jpg (231.21 KiB) Viewed 6200 times
Last edited by Big Imp on Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
1. Desktop Corsair 450D Case, X99 MSI mobo, Intel 5820K i7(Hexacore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia GPU 680 GTX driver v.364.51, Windows 10 Pro
2. Laptop ASUS ROG G751JY, Intel i7 4720(Quadcore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia 980M(Driver 364.51), Windows 10

User avatar
Big Imp
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Big Imp » Fri Feb 20, 2015 9:14 pm

The point of attack view is all wrong when you are using a star base as last line of defense, it should be default facing the attackers since it has a 360 degrees defense and not a window 90 degrees facing away from enemy.
Attachments
base defense attack view.jpg
base defense attack view.jpg (244.33 KiB) Viewed 6199 times
1. Desktop Corsair 450D Case, X99 MSI mobo, Intel 5820K i7(Hexacore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia GPU 680 GTX driver v.364.51, Windows 10 Pro
2. Laptop ASUS ROG G751JY, Intel i7 4720(Quadcore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia 980M(Driver 364.51), Windows 10

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Arioch » Fri Feb 20, 2015 10:05 pm

It's not advisable to use weapons with fixed firing arcs on stations, if you don't also give them maneuvering thrusters (which allow the station to move and rotate).

The firing arcs of weapons should be more clear in the ship designer in the future.

If the AI designed this station for you, then that's something that should be fixed as well. It doesn't do a great job of designing viable ships at the moment.

User avatar
Big Imp
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Big Imp » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:30 pm

Arioch wrote:It's not advisable to use weapons with fixed firing arcs on stations, if you don't also give them maneuvering thrusters (which allow the station to move and rotate).

The firing arcs of weapons should be more clear in the ship designer in the future.

If the AI designed this station for you, then that's something that should be fixed as well. It doesn't do a great job of designing viable ships at the moment.



This is the default star base build.
1. Desktop Corsair 450D Case, X99 MSI mobo, Intel 5820K i7(Hexacore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia GPU 680 GTX driver v.364.51, Windows 10 Pro
2. Laptop ASUS ROG G751JY, Intel i7 4720(Quadcore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia 980M(Driver 364.51), Windows 10

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Arioch » Sat Feb 21, 2015 1:56 am

Big Imp wrote:This is the default star base build.

Yeah, I figured. The AI sometimes makes some silly choices in selecting a "default" configuration for each ship class based on your current techs (especially stations and bases), so I'd recommend checking any new ship or base before you build it (you can edit the ship designer by shift-clicking on any appropriate item in the planetary production menu).

Obviously, this is something that needs to be improved.

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1511
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:28 am

Arioch wrote:It's not advisable to use weapons with fixed firing arcs on stations, if you don't also give them maneuvering thrusters (which allow the station to move and rotate).


Yeah -- that said -- if people do put fixed guns on stations, they should probably not be pointing up :)

One more thing that I really ought to fix here...

Also, right now, the *intention* is that all gun mounts on the stations should have 360 degree firing arcs -- so, actually, this screenshot represents at least 2 different bugs :)

User avatar
Big Imp
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Suggest - Features and Improvements

Postby Big Imp » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:17 pm

I think someone else also posted this...about a fleet base moving along to attack. :shock:
OOps posted in wrong forum, should be moved to current bugs.
Attachments
fleetbase.jpg
fleetbase.jpg (262.52 KiB) Viewed 6046 times
Last edited by Big Imp on Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.
1. Desktop Corsair 450D Case, X99 MSI mobo, Intel 5820K i7(Hexacore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia GPU 680 GTX driver v.364.51, Windows 10 Pro
2. Laptop ASUS ROG G751JY, Intel i7 4720(Quadcore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia 980M(Driver 364.51), Windows 10


Return to “Archives”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron