Bug Report Archive

Threads and posts that have become outdated are preserved here.

Moderator: luciderous

User avatar
Big Imp
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:26 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Big Imp » Thu Apr 16, 2015 10:00 am

sven wrote:
Big Imp wrote:I have discovered when a fleet arrive in my system I am unable to attack them if I want to. They just disappear, I couldn't find them in orbit in my planet system.


Hmm... So, I'm looking through the history in game 151, and at first glance, I don't see any signs of a disappearing enemy fleet. It looks like, on Stardate 1416 (the date of the save), you had 1 destroyer in Adhara, attacked a Yoral destroyer, and were destroyed. 2 turns later, you successfully engaged enemy fleets at both Cheleb and Adhara, winning both battles.

All these battles were started by you -- the enemy ships never tried to engage. So, I think what we're seeing here may actually be a UI problem. What the game intends as a "you have an option to attack" you may be interpreting as "you are required to attack".



Might be it
1. Desktop Corsair 450D Case, X99 MSI mobo, Intel 5820K i7(Hexacore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia GPU 680 GTX driver v.364.51, Windows 10 Pro
2. Laptop ASUS ROG G751JY, Intel i7 4720(Quadcore), 16 GB Mem, Nvidia 980M(Driver 364.51), Windows 10

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Thu Apr 16, 2015 2:29 pm

Big Imp wrote:
sven wrote:
Big Imp wrote:I have discovered when a fleet arrive in my system I am unable to attack them if I want to. They just disappear, I couldn't find them in orbit in my planet system.


Hmm... So, I'm looking through the history in game 151, and at first glance, I don't see any signs of a disappearing enemy fleet. It looks like, on Stardate 1416 (the date of the save), you had 1 destroyer in Adhara, attacked a Yoral destroyer, and were destroyed. 2 turns later, you successfully engaged enemy fleets at both Cheleb and Adhara, winning both battles.

All these battles were started by you -- the enemy ships never tried to engage. So, I think what we're seeing here may actually be a UI problem. What the game intends as a "you have an option to attack" you may be interpreting as "you are required to attack".



Might be it


For the record -- the main difference between "optional attacks" and "required battles", at the moment, is that optional attacks have a yellow explosion icon, and required ones a red explosion icon. One little change I'm considering is to move the yellow, optional attack icons from the strategic map to the fleet pane -- so, for example, to attack the Yoral ships in your system, you'd need to click on them, then hit an 'attack' button that would be in about the same place as the 'move' button in your own fleets. Might make these sorts of situations a bit less confusing.

User avatar
Gyrfalcon
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:58 pm
Location: The Peninsula

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Gyrfalcon » Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:18 am

game_158 has a colonizer headed to Antares full of Enfi, which was not my intention. I ordered a Colonizer and it was loaded with Enfi without my selecting them or anything. I'd expect a colonizer to be filled with whatever the dominant species of the planet that manufactures it.
Summer grasses
all that remains of great soldiers'
imperial dreams - Basho

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Arioch » Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:23 am

Gyrfalcon wrote:game_158 has a colonizer headed to Antares full of Enfi, which was not my intention. I ordered a Colonizer and it was loaded with Enfi without my selecting them or anything. I'd expect a colonizer to be filled with whatever the dominant species of the planet that manufactures it.

Yeah, I had the same experience and discussed it with Sven on Wednesday. The proposed fix is that some population types will be flagged as minor species, so that they are not chosen as colonists when Colony Ships are built.

User avatar
Gyrfalcon
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:58 pm
Location: The Peninsula

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Gyrfalcon » Sat Apr 18, 2015 9:58 pm

game_161 happened after missiles started hitting my planet's defenses, maybe because of the pd firing?
Summer grasses
all that remains of great soldiers'
imperial dreams - Basho

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:08 pm

Gyrfalcon wrote:game_161 happened after missiles started hitting my planet's defenses, maybe because of the pd firing?


interesting.... certainly looks like a video card bug of some sort -- did the game need to be restarted after the error, or where you able to click 'ignore' and continue playing?

does it repeat reliably? (if you load a save just before this fight, does the bug happen a second time?)

User avatar
Gyrfalcon
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:58 pm
Location: The Peninsula

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Gyrfalcon » Sat Apr 18, 2015 10:20 pm

It does happen if I rewind the game and go back to that fight, although you will have to attack the invading fleet for them to turn around and attack the planet so you can defend it.

Also, I saw a number of instances where they would appear to capture a ship and keep lobbing missiles at it.

EDIT: I was able to Ignore Error and keep playing, although the error occurred again the next round of combat.
Summer grasses
all that remains of great soldiers'
imperial dreams - Basho

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Bug reports starting with build r12272

Postby mharmless » Sun Apr 19, 2015 8:02 pm

Technology selection square is not centered properly in 4:3 aspect

The solid white square inside the square outline is not centered in 4:3 fullscreen aspect. It looks fine if you force the game into windowed mode, in which case it is running widescreen (16:9?)
Attachments
4-3 aspect technology selection square is not centered.PNG
4-3 aspect technology selection square is not centered.PNG (105 KiB) Viewed 6626 times

mharmless
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Washington State

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby mharmless » Sun Apr 19, 2015 9:29 pm

I suspect this is a bug, but it might realistically be a design decision.

Troop transports are placed at the front of the ship formation in tactical combat.

The gap you can see below, where the light cruiser is, used to contain a troop transport. The enter center of the formation is made of troop transports, and they die very quickly. This might be a design choice, to encourage moving the transports independent of the rest of the fleet. When I'm on the attack, I can pick which ships are in the fight, so no problem. It feels like the transports should be to the rear of the formation. This goes for other juicy targets like colony ships.

Meatgrinder.PNG
Meatgrinder.PNG (1.75 MiB) Viewed 6668 times

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby sven » Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:06 am

Gyrfalcon wrote:It does happen if I rewind the game and go back to that fight, although you will have to attack the invading fleet for them to turn around and attack the planet so you can defend it.

Also, I saw a number of instances where they would appear to capture a ship and keep lobbing missiles at it.

EDIT: I was able to Ignore Error and keep playing, although the error occurred again the next round of combat.


I think this bug should be fixed on dev (r12278). Let me know if you see it again.

User avatar
Dinkelsen
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 1:40 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Dinkelsen » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:32 pm

Minor UI issue: (dev 12782)
In the Planetary Report pane (the one that opens when you clixk the orange wrench icon) there are lines indication what is being produced and how long it will take. If you are producing something that takes less than a turn (there is already more production allocated than needed - e.g. 120/100) the bar will be longer than it should extending to the very edge of the pane. This is also the case with research.

Regards, Stephan

User avatar
Mythox
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:18 am
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Mythox » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:35 pm

well it seem that right clicking on the the info bubules at the right of the screen (event bubules) make the game crashinng and make game restarting !!!

User avatar
Dinkelsen
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 1:40 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Dinkelsen » Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:47 pm

Just encountered something funny: (uploaded game_164)

All this happened in the same turn:
- I intercepted a Teros colony ship at Tyl.
- I chose not to intervene.
- The Teros founded a colony.
- I attacked the colony immediately.
- The colony ship was still in orbit. A tactical battle started.
- I captured the colony ship.
- 1 million Teros were still on board. :-)
- I got a strange event icon for the founding of the Teros colony. It look like a trophy, I was expecting a population icon.

Thanks, Teros!
Regards, Stephan

edited by sven: this one's not actually a bug. the teros arrived at Tyl with 2 colony ships :) (the icon issue should be fixed on dev.)
how embarrassing...

User avatar
Gyrfalcon
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:58 pm
Location: The Peninsula

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Gyrfalcon » Wed Apr 22, 2015 1:57 pm

sven wrote:
Gyrfalcon wrote:It does happen if I rewind the game and go back to that fight, although you will have to attack the invading fleet for them to turn around and attack the planet so you can defend it.

Also, I saw a number of instances where they would appear to capture a ship and keep lobbing missiles at it.

EDIT: I was able to Ignore Error and keep playing, although the error occurred again the next round of combat.


I think this bug should be fixed on dev (r12278). Let me know if you see it again.


game_167 occurred under similar circumstances, although I think it was when my missiles hit the enemy, rather than when my pd hit their missiles. Also, despite mounting anti-missiles, I'm getting beams coming off the planet when the pd fires. I suspect that's still WIP, but I thought I should mention it.

EDIT: er, seems to be happening when their missiles hit my planet, too, so maybe it's the missiles hitting something?
Summer grasses
all that remains of great soldiers'
imperial dreams - Basho

halftea
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:16 am

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby halftea » Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:19 pm

SiS consistently crashing when trying to load saved games.

Using latest build and the saves are build the same.
build.JPG
build.JPG (13.19 KiB) Viewed 6633 times
saves.JPG
saves.JPG (23.75 KiB) Viewed 6633 times


Audio suddenly stops and I get a SiS.exe unexpectedly stops message if I exit back out to the desktop.

Let me know what additional log info I can send.


Return to “Archives”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests