Report - Current Bugs and Issues

A forum for chatting about in-development game features.

Moderator: luciderous

bjg
Posts: 621
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby bjg » Wed Nov 30, 2016 4:32 pm

Orthin don't produce food on an Ocean world - seems like a bug. game_1578.

Chasm
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:14 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Chasm » Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:35 pm

Only race that produces food in ocean is threshers, its the water version of arid.

bjg
Posts: 621
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby bjg » Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:08 pm

Chasm wrote:Only race that produces food in ocean is threshers, its the water version of arid.

There are Vents on an Ocean planet. Vents are native to Orthin.

Chasm
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 9:14 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Chasm » Wed Nov 30, 2016 11:29 pm

And water is native to phidi, but I'm guessing its a balance issue.

ShadowDragon8685
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 2:46 am

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby ShadowDragon8685 » Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:13 am

Massive problem right now: Norton Antivirus is detecting sis.exe as a virus and removing it. It's classifying sis.exe as a Heur.AdvML.B Heuristic Virus.

bjg
Posts: 621
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby bjg » Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:16 pm

ShadowDragon8685 wrote:Massive problem right now: Norton Antivirus

:lol:

zolobolo
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby zolobolo » Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:31 pm

Colonizing first planet in a system with natives: Thershers
One turn later report: Refugees assimilated - another planet in the system suddenly became colonized and 1'000'000 Human refugees became my colonists

Possible reason: the second planet had a farm besides the refugees per default as a planet discovery event.

zolobolo
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby zolobolo » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:00 pm

Nuclear Missile can be mounted as turret (Viper launcher cannot)

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Arioch » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:31 pm

zolobolo wrote:Nuclear Missile can be mounted as turret (Viper launcher cannot)

That's correct. Regular missiles can be mounted on medium turret hardpoints, but Vipers and Pulsons and Black Hole Projectors require a heavy hardpoint.

The rationale behind this is that normal missile launchers are just containers of ammunition, which can scale up or down in size with the number of available missiles, but the "energy" missiles launchers are, like beam weapons, of a fixed size.

zolobolo
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby zolobolo » Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:01 pm

So the classification is according to size (small=turret; medium; heavy; siege):
Why then a separate category for "Missile"? As missiles can scale with size, why have a missile specific hardpoint?
Does it not allow for other weapons besides missiles and torpedoes?
I haven't seen other weapon type specific hardpoints yet like: Energy or Coil

If so then I it is understandable when used as a limitation for the Germak (they cannot utilize large coil and energy weapons early on)
Guess other civs would have other weapon type specific hardpoints. Like the humies would have "Energy" exclusive hardpoints

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Arioch » Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:35 pm

The "missile" hardpoint type is a special case for certain hulls that have what are essentially missile tubes that fire from an internal launcher; there is no visible external weapon. We should perhaps call the hardpoint something different (like a "Launch Tube").

A number of the hardpoints are haphazardly named; we'll revisit this when we revamp the ship designer.

zolobolo
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby zolobolo » Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:57 pm

Starbases with Maneuvering engine is not mobile but stationary like without the module
It has been mentioned on the forum that this should make the star base mobile and act as a defense station for planets that do not have strong industry.

Personally I do not mind this, as the mobile defense stations would raise a lot of questions, but the module should not be available for this type of blueprint.

If this is a missing feature/bug, then it needs to be considered what the difference between a station and a large ship hull is - a difficult task. Range, speed, act as a fuel station?, can be stacked - all needs to be considered. More on this in http://stars-in-shadow.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=374&p=4397#p4397

zolobolo
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby zolobolo » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:03 pm

When establishing contact with Humans, an empty star-system is uncovered.
An Outpost has probably been established here when the Humans began - or it is shown because the Humans started in this system...

When species are more specialized, hope this will show the mother-ship of the Humans as they never really settle :)

zolobolo
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:49 pm

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby zolobolo » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:34 pm

Planets with "Low" fertility level default all races food production to 0

I also haven't seen any planets with "Normal" level yet...

Food description does not tell that the planet has psychical trait which nullifies food production, but it is also 0 for Gremak as well as for Threshers
On "high" level they produce 0.5; 1.5 on "Low" they produce 0;0
Shouldn't Threshers be 0.5 at least for "low" and 1 for "normal" if such a planet existed?

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Report - Current Bugs and Issues

Postby Arioch » Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:44 pm

zolobolo wrote:Starbases with Maneuvering engine is not mobile but stationary like without the module
It has been mentioned on the forum that this should make the star base mobile and act as a defense station for planets that do not have strong industry.

Personally I do not mind this, as the mobile defense stations would raise a lot of questions, but the module should not be available for this type of blueprint.

Maneuvering engine gives a station the ability to maneuver in tactical combat. It does not (nor should it) give it the ability to leave orbit of the planet it was constructed at, or move from star to star. Maneuvering engines are not FTL drives.


Return to “Testing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron