Intel HD Graphics Crashes

A forum for chatting about in-development game features.

Moderator: luciderous

bjg
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby bjg » Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:00 pm

Since the combat (and after combat) are the times it crashes the most, could you add a "pre-combat" autosave, please?

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Suggest - Features and Improvements

Postby sven » Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:18 pm

bjg wrote:Since the combat (and after combat) are the times it crashes the most, could you add a "pre-combat" autosave, please?


I could... but, I'd much rather fix the root issue.

I just pushed a patch to 'stable' (r14702) that might fix the crashes you've been experiencing on your Intel laptop. Can you tell me if you're still getting regular crashes, after updating?

bjg
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Suggest - Features and Improvements

Postby bjg » Thu Feb 18, 2016 1:10 am

It's got the update, but I haven't played long enough yet to tell if it's got better. It hasn't got worse though. :)

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Suggest - Features and Improvements

Postby Arioch » Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:21 am

bjg wrote:It's got the update, but I haven't played long enough yet to tell if it's got better. It hasn't got worse though. :)

Well, that's a start!

bjg
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby bjg » Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:21 am

It's just crashed. Ran out of system memory. :(

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby sven » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:25 pm

bjg wrote:It's just crashed. Ran out of system memory. :(


I've encountered a rumor in a dark corner of the internet that may have some bearing on these crashes. Apparently the intel hd opengl driver has some issues when running 32 bit binaries on 64 bit Windows. So, in theory, switching to a 64 bit build of SiS might fix these crashes.

As of the latest stable build -- there should be an exe called sis64.exe inside Stars in Shadow/. This is still experimental -- but, what testing I've done thus far suggests that crashes are less likely, and total memory use lower, when running sis64.exe on Intel HD Graphics machines.

Could those of you who have been running into crashes on the Intel HD Hardware (and who are also using 64 bit windows), try testing using sis64.exe, and let me whether or not that appears to fix the crashes?

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby Arioch » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:41 pm

sis64.exe won't start for me. (I'm on 64-bit Windows 10 Home).

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)."

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby sven » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:42 pm

Arioch wrote:sis64.exe won't start for me. (I'm on 64-bit Windows 10 Home).

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)."


Hrm. It's probably missing a dll or something. I'll see if I can get that fixed after supper.

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby sven » Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:28 am

Arioch wrote:sis64.exe won't start for me. (I'm on 64-bit Windows 10 Home).

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)."



Ok, as of r14760, I think this may be fixed. Unfortunately, I don't have a clean test machine to check the dll issues on. Can you let me know if sis64.exe is running on your Windows 10 box?

Edit: As of r14764, the start menu screen should show whether you're running a 32-bit or 64-bit build of the game. (right now, the autoupdater will launch the 32-bit version, even if the update launched from the 64-bit binary -- so, you may end up in a 32 bit build, in moments when you don't expect to.)

bjg
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby bjg » Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:05 am

sis64 runs and loads the game for me (on Win7), haven't tried to play yet.

User avatar
Arioch
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:56 am
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby Arioch » Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:17 am

Still doesn't run on my Win10 system. No error message, it just never starts, and the explorer window I tried to launch it from becomes unresponsive.

bjg
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:55 pm

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby bjg » Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:39 am

Can't talk to marauders. The error is sent. Switching back to 32 for now.

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby sven » Thu Feb 25, 2016 3:04 am

bjg wrote:Can't talk to marauders. The error is sent. Switching back to 32 for now.


Ok -- I can replicate that. Very strange. Must be some low-level compatibility thing in my regex parser. A fix will need to wait for tomorrow.

Thanks for the testing!

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby sven » Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:51 pm

bjg wrote:Can't talk to marauders. The error is sent. Switching back to 32 for now.


Looks like the x64 microsoft c++ compiler has some interesting quirks.

These "Attempt to access an uninitialized boost::match_results<> class" bugs should be fixed in the version of sis64.exe now posted on stable (r14768).

User avatar
sven
Site Admin
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:24 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Intel HD Graphics Crashes

Postby sven » Tue Mar 01, 2016 7:19 pm

Theodotus wrote:So now that I've had the opportunity to play SIS a bit:


I've been looking over your beta testing logs, and you have indeed logged quite a few hours over the last 3 days! From what I can tell, you're playing on a machine with an Intel HD Graphics 4600 adapter; and you have experienced 3 crashes while running with the 32-bit binary (sis.exe). However, you've also been doing a lot of testing using sis64.exe, and as best as I can tell, it's never crashed for you. Is this correct?

If so, it may be about time to change the updater / installer scripts so any new players on an Intel HD Graphics machine are sent to the 64-binary automatically.

Also -- can I ask how the game has been performing for you? (If you hit ctrl+h in an end-game map, what fps numbers do you typically see?)

Thanks again for all the testing and feedback.


Return to “Testing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests